COUNCIL APPOINTMENTS FOR 2022/2023

This is the pro-forma for appointments in 2022/2023

The Executive Members and Assistant Executive Members

EXECUTIVE BOARD			
Leader of the Council and Chair of Executive Board	Phil Riley	Phil Riley	
The following appointments have been made by the Leader of the Council:			
Deputy Leaders of the Council	1: Quesir Mahmood 2: Julie Gunn	1: Quesir Mahmood (senior) 2: Julie Gunn	
Vice Chair of Executive Board	Quesir Mahmood	Quesir Mahmood	
PORTFOLIOS	Executive Member	Assistant Executive Member	
Adult Services & Prevention	Mustafa Desai	Jackie Floyd Sonia Khan Saj Ali	
Public Health & Wellbeing	Damian Talbot	Brian Taylor Zamir Khan	
Children's, Young People & Education	Julie Gunn	Katrina Fielding Tasleem Fazal Abdul Patel	
Environmental Services	Jim Smith	Jim Casey Shaukat Hussain	
Growth & Development	Quesir Mahmood	Zainab Rawat Jim Shorrock	
Digital & Customer Services	Mahfooz Hussain	Elaine Whittingham	
Finance & Governance	Vicky McGurk	Dave Harling Salim Sidat	
The remainder of appointments are for completion by the Group Leaders.			
Opposition Member on Executive Board			
John Slater			

4. Appoint Members of Committees

Committee	Labour	Conservative	Lib Dem
Policy & Corporate Resources Overview and Scrutiny Membership Chair: Tony Humphrys Vice-Chair: Kevin Connor	Tony Humphrys Sylvia Liddle Zainab Rawat Brian Taylor Jackie Floyd Shaukat Hussain Tasleem Fazal Katrina Fielding	Neil Slater Mark Russell Kevin Connor	
Place - Overview and Scrutiny Committee Membership Chair: Brian Taylor Vice Chair: Salim Sidat	Iftakhar Hussain Zamir Khan Salim Sidat Brian Taylor Katrina Fielding Sonia Khan Parwaiz Akhtar Stephanie Brookfield		
People Overview and Scrutiny Committee Membership Chair: Sylvia Liddle Vice-Chair: Martin McCaughran	Sylvia Liddle Hussain Akhtar Dave Smith Mohammed Irfan Martin McCaughran Dave Harling Elaine Whittingham Ehsan Raja		
Call In Committee Chair: Kevin Connor			
Planning & Highways Committee Membership Chair: Dave Smith Vice-Chair: Hussain Akhtar	Dave Smith Hussain Akhtar Samim Desai Zamir Khan Jim Casey Sylvia Liddle Quesir Mahmood Martin McCaughran Sabahat Imtiaz	Paul Marrow Jacquie Slater Jon Baldwin	Paul Browne

APPENDIX 2

			APPENDIA 2
Committee	Labour	Conservative	Lib Dem
Licensing Committee Membership Chair: Iftakhar Hussain Vice-Chair: Stephanie Brookfield	Iftakhar Hussain Stephanie Brookfield Brian Taylor Jim Casey Tasleem Fazal Sabahat Imtiaz Ehsan Raja Jim Shorrock	Denise Gee Derek Hardman Lilian Salton	
Audit and Governance Committee Membership Chair: Dave Harling Vice Chair: Salim Sidat	Dave Harling Salim Sidat TBC TBC	Jon Baldwin Neil Slater	
Standards Committee Membership Chair: Parwaiz Akhtar Vice-Chair: Lilian Salton	Parwaiz Akhtar Mohammed Irfan Jim Casey Samim Desai Saj Ali Elaine Whittingham	Neil Slater Kevin Connor Lilian Salton	
Health & Wellbeing Board Membership Chair: Damian Talbot	Julie Gunn Mustafa Desai Damian Talbot	Derek Hardman	

3

APPOINTMENT TO GROUPS AND PANELS

Committee	Labour	Opposition
Appeals Panel		
Membership 15		
Chief Executive's Employment Committee Membership 4	Phil Riley Quesir Mahmood Julie Gunn	John Slater
Chief Officer's Employment Committee Membership 4	Phil Riley Quesir Mahmood Julie Gunn	John Slater

The Membership of the Chief Executive and Chief Officer Employment Committees is the Leader of the Council, the two Deputy Leaders and the Leader of the Opposition.

The appointments within Political Groups

LABOUR GROUP	Councillors		
Leader	Phil Riley		
Deputy Leaders	Quesir Mahmood (Senior), Julie Gunn		
CONSERVATIVE GROUP	Councillors		
Leader	John Slater		
Deputy Leaders	Denise Gee (Senior), Derek Hardman		
Shadow Cabinet	Shadow Executive Member	Shadow Assistant Executive Member	
Adult Services & Prevention	Jacquie Slater	Mark Russell	
Public Health & Wellbeing	Derek Hardman	Kevin Connor	
Children's, Young People & Education	Lilian Salton	Denise Gee	
Environmental Services	Jean Rigby	John Slater	
Growth & Development	Paul Marrow	Altaf Patel	
Digital & Customer Services	Julie Slater	Jacquie Slater	
Finance & Governance	Neil Slater	Jon Baldwin	
Opposition Committee Spokespersons			
Planning & Highways	Paul Marrow		
Licensing	Denise Gee		

4